International Conference on Multiaxial Fatigue and Fracture (ICMFF)

Many engineering components and structures in the automotive, aerospace, power generation, and other industries are subjected to multiaxial stresses during their service life. Despite increased efforts to understand multiaxial fatigue and fracture behaviour of materials and structures, failure assessment procedures are becoming more complex. This is partly due to the synergistic effects of many parameters and variables involved with regards to the material behaviour, component geometry, manufacturing process, and service load history.

This series of publications collects the Proceedings of Conferences held every three years. Such Conferences have brought together both fatigue and fracture experts from Industries, Universities and so on, to exchange recent information and discuss on how to promote research and development in this field.

The first conference of the series was held in 1982 in San Francisco, USA. Subsequent conferences were held in Sheffield, UK (1985), Stuttgart, Germany (1989), St. Germain-en-Laye, France (1994), Cracow, Poland (1997), Lisbon, Portugal (2001), Berlin, Germany (2004), Sheffield, UK (2007), Parma, Italy (2010), Kyoto, Japan (2013), and Seville, Spain (2016).

The conference series will be continued in Bordeaux, France (June 2019) and San Francisco, USA (June 2022).

Scientific Committee

  • José Alexander Araújo, University of Brasilia, Brazil

  • Filippo Berto, NTNU, Trondheim, Norway

  • F.P. Brennan, Cranfield University, UK

  • Alfonso Fernández Canteli, University of Oviedo, Spain

  • Andrea Carpinteri, University of Parma, Italy

  • X. Chen, Tianjin University, China

  • Jaime Domínguez, University of Seville, Spain

  • Masahiro Endo, University of Fukuoka, Japan

  • Ali Fatemi, University of Toledo, USA

  • Siegfried Fouvry, Ecole Centrale de Lyon, France

  • Manuel de Freitas, Technical University of Lisbon, Portugal

  • Eugenio Giner Maravilla, Universidad Politécnica de Valencia, Spain

  • Takamoto Itoh, Ritsumeikan University, Shiga, Japan

  • M.Neil James, Mechanical Engineering at Plymouth, UK

  • Andrei Georgievich Kotousov, Adelaide, Australia

  • Yukitaka Murakami, University of Fukuoka, Japan

  • Alfredo Navarro, University of Seville, Spain

  • Carlos Navarro, University of Seville, Spain

  • Thierry Palin-Luc, Arts et Métiers ParisTech, Talence, France

  • Les P. Pook, Sevenoaks, UK

  • Luis Reis, Technical University of Lisbon, Portugal

  • Masao Sakane, Ritsumeikan University, Shiga, Japan

  • Andrey Shanyavskiy, State Center for Flights Safety, Airport Sheremetievo-1, Moscow region, Chimkinskiy State, Russia

  • C. Morris Sonsino, University of Darmstadt, Germany

  • Luca Susmel, The University of Sheffield, UK

  • Keisuke Tanaka, Meijo University, Nagoya, Japan

  • Sabrina Vantadori, University of Parma, Italy

  • Michael Vormwald, University of Darmstadt, Germany